Roasted chestnuts

IMG_20170513_091622_455.jpg

I love talking about food almost as much as I like eating it. The other night a friend came over for dinner and we started talking chestnuts. I was keen to get my hands on some fresh local ones. Turns out after 18 years of friendship I had no idea this friend doesn’t like chestnuts but can get them easily from a neighbour that doesn’t like them either. A few days later some chestnuts turned up on my front door step. I also found in my travels a row of chestnut trees growing along a fence dropping nuts on the side of the road. Needless to say I was sorted for chestnuts.

The ones in the supermarket are often not stored properly and can be mouldy. They need to be stored at around 0 degree celsius and will keep for a year and still be as fresh as when they fell off the tree. This is my go to recipe for roasted chestnuts and the way I love eating them.

Preheat the oven to the hottest it will go – mine goes to 230C. Chestnut husks wrap around the nuts like a cactus. Use some strong leather gardening gloves to pry the nuts free. You can also stomp them with your feet and crush the husk off if you don’t have thick gloves. Give the nuts a decent cut about half way through, across the middle of the domed side. Place nuts in a cake tin about one deep. Then add water to almost cover them. Give them a generous sprinkling of Murray River pink salt and roast for about 10 mins. You’ll know they’re ready when the shell peels back off the inner kernal. If you don’t like the flavour of the inner skin they can be boiled a bit longer to make it easy to remove. Peel off the shell and eat while still warm. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

