Christmas harvest

christmas

Late December 2014, I gathered up this harvest from the garden to take away with us on our week away down the coast. I don’t normally pick this much at once as I prefer to pick it on day I eat it so its at its freshest.

The little bounty included eggplant, cucumbers, zucchini, kale, oregano, basil, parsley, four varieties of lettuce, pak choy, cherry tomatoes and eggs. Fast forward to Christmas 2016, spring was late and it has been particularly cold and wet with a couple of heat waves thrown in to confuse the plants. My eggplants and tomatoes are very late to fruit and my basil has not been happy either. I’ve only just had a couple of tomatoes ripen in the last few days.

The kale I was growing at the time back in 2014 was gettting munched on by the white cabbage moth. On reflection kale is happiest growing in cooler weather and struggles in the heat. I’ve since found out that the best way to grow kale through Adelaide’s hot summer is to grow in a wicking bed so it stays well hydrated and to also place a net over it so the moths don’t get a chance to get to the plant to lay their eggs.

Leave a Reply

